Former Chief Ministers


T. R. Zeliang

19.07. 2017 – 07.03. 2018

T. R. Zeliang is the 10th Chief Minister of Nagaland. A leader of the Nagaland People’s Front, Zeliang took over the reins from former Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio following the latter’s move to national-level politics in Delhi. Zeliang is a former Member of Parliament, representing Nagaland in the Rajya Sabha, the Upper House of the Indian Parliament.


Dr. shiirhozelie

Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu

22.02. 2017 – 19.07. 2017

Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu, son of Late Krusietsü Liezietsu, was born in Kohima on 20th November, 1936. He became the Chief Minister of Nagaland on 22ndFebruary, 2017 after the former Chief Minister, T.R. Zeliang resigned.

He received his early education from Baptist Mission School, Kohima and passed Matriculation Examination from Kohima Govt. High School in 1955 under Guwahati University. He passed Intermediate level in 1960 from St. Edmund’s School, Shillong under Guwahati University and completed his graduation with Economics honours from the same College in 1962. He then passed M.A (Tenyidie) under Ura Academy Academic Qualification Division in 1983…




6.3.2003 – 3.1.2008 / 12.3.2008 – 2014

Rio is the son of Late Guolhoulie Rio of Tuophema village in Kohima District and belongs to the Angami Naga tribe. He received his early education from Baptist English School, Kohima and Sainik School Purulia, West Bengal. He attended college at St. Joseph’s College, Darjeeling and later graduated from Kohima Arts College.

An active student leader in his School and College days, Rio entered into the realm politics at a very young age. He had headed many prestigious organizations before becoming the Nagaland Chief Minister…


Pic of S C Jamir


22.2.1993 – 5.3.1998 / 5.3.1998 – 5.3.2003 / 25.1.1989 – 15.5.1990 / 17.11.1982 – 28.10.1986 / 18.4.1980 – 4.6.1980

Senayangba Chubatoshi Jamir (born 17 October 1931) is an Indian politician and Governor of Odisha. He has served as the Chief Minister of Nagaland, Governor of Maharashtra, Governor of Gujarat and Governor of Goa.

Jamir is the son of Senayangba Jamir of Ungma village, Mokokchung district of Nagaland and belongs to the Ao Naga Tribe. Grandson of Jongshinokdang, who in the late 19th century, had the providential opportunity to meet the American Christian Missionary Rev. Edwin W. Clark and was instrumental in bringing Christianity to Nagaland. He was born on 17 October 1931. He did his early education in Mokokchung,…


pic of vamuzo



Vamuzo was first elected to the State Legislature in 1969 General Election as a UDF Member from Chozuba Constituency, re-elected from the same Constituency in 1974 General Election and subsequently appointed Minister incharge of P.W.D.

In 1977 General Election, he was again elected from the same constituency as a UDF Member and appointed Cabinet Minister in-charge of Finance, REvenue, Industries and Commerce and Election. In 1982 General Election Mr. Vamuzo again returned to the august House and subsequently elected Leader of Opposition…


pic of K L Chishi


16.5.1990 – 16.6.1990

Mr. Keyezhe L. Chishi (K.L.Chishi) son of Lukhashe Chishi, born on December 17, 1943 married to Ikhuli Yepthomi in 1973 one son and three daughters matriculated from Govt. High School, Kohima graduated with Honours from St. Joseph’s College, North Point, Darjeeling, secured LL.B degree from University of Bombay , joined Bar in1971 in the Bar Council of Assam and Nagaland and practiced privately till appointed as Assistant Public Prosecutor in 1973 and Junior Govt. Advocate in 1975, entered into active politics in 1976, elected to the Nagaland Legislative Assembly from Atoizu Constituency in U.D.F. ticket in the Fourth General Election 1977, appointed as Minister for Veterinary, Animal Husbandry, Labour & Employment, Appointed as Minister for Industries and Commerce under NNDP Govt. in 1980, when merger….




29.10.1986 – 22.11.1987 / 22.11.1987 – 6.8.1988

Hokishe Sema was a politician, four time Chief Minister of Nagaland and a former Governor of Himachal Pradesh.

A native of Sutemi in the Zunheboto district of Nagaland, Sema studied at the Serampore College and St Anthony’s College in Shillong. He joined government service in the 1950s as a school inspector, later serving as an assistant commissioner of the then Naga Hills district of undivided Assam.In the late 1950s, he became a member of the drafting committee of Naga People’s Convention. A sixteen point agreement signed with the Government of India on the basis of this Convention led to the formation of the separate state of Nagaland in 1960…




5.6.1980 – 16.11.1982 / 10.3.1975 – 20.3.1975

Son of Late Dr. Khosa Angami: born 1927; married 1954, three sons and three daughters; educated at Kohima Government High School and St. Edmund’s college, Shillong, helped the British Forces in the battle of Kohima 19944 as a guide and scout. Keen sportsman, declared individual champion of the Eastern Upper Assam Tournament as an all round athletic 1948; join the Naga independence movement and went underground, 1952; worked as Publicity Officer and acting Secretary of Naga National Council; disagreed with Mr. Phizo on the means to be adopted to achieve Political end after the Naga National Council resorted to violent means, broke away and came overground, 1955; organised the Naga Peoples Convention; elected General Secretary of N.P.C …




25.11.1977 – 18.4.1980 / 26.2.1974 – 10.3.1975

Chief Minister of Nagaland was born in November, 1916 at Viswema village of Kohima District, studied in Missio Middle School, Kohima, Government High School, Shillong (Assam) and graduted in St. Edmund’s Collage, Shillong in 1951: married Miss Razoulhou in 1949 and four sons and two daughter: join Royal Indian Air Force in 1942 and served upto 1946: join Naga National Council (N.N.C): later taught in John Institute School, Viswema till 1951, was Principal, Naga High School, Kohima from 1953 to 1956: imprisoned on two occasions ( 1956-57): was Vice President of Naga Peoples Convention (1957-1960): elected Member of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly …




14.8.1966 – 22.2.1969

Thepfula Nakhro (T.N) Angami (1913- 1986) was a Naga politician who served as the second Chief Minister of the North East Indian state of Nagaland.

T.N. Angami was born the son of V N Angami in Jotsoma village near Kohima in a wealthy Angami Naga family in 1913. He was schooled in Kohima, Jorhat and Shillong and served in the Indian Army during the Second World War. From 1946, he worked in the office of the Deputy Commissioner of the Naga Hills District for five years…


Shilu Ao


First Chief Minister of Nagaland

P. Shilu Ao (December 24, 1916 – September 19, 1988) is the first Chief Minister of Nagaland. He was a Naga politician who was involved in the negotiations leading to the creation of Nagaland, in the far north-east of India, as one of the states and territories of India in December 1963. Ao then served as the first Chief Minister of Nagaland until August 1966.

Ao was born in the Longjang village of the district of Mokokchung to Metongchiba Pongen and Melungnenla Imchen on December 24, 1916. He was schooled at the Impur Mission School and completed a bachelor’s degree and a law degree from the Cotton College, Guwahati…